Edmonton Oil Kings

Proud to be at Salisbury


Since September of 2007, Salisbury High School has been the proud host school for the Edmonton Oil Kings.  Each year, 8-12 Oil Kings players attend classes in the morning to continue their studies while they play in the Western Hockey League.  These top athletes are supported by the Educational Advisor, Sharon Sereda and the staff of Salisbury High School. Sharon can be reached at sharon.sereda@eips.ca.

A Few Words from the Team

The Oil Kings have now been attending Salisbury as their franchise school since 2007. Throughout this period, players have enjoyed great success in their academic classes while steadily increasing their ability level on the ice and in the League standings.

The following are the players who have been honoured with the team Scholastic Player of the Year Award, a western Hockey League distinction which honours classroom success and contribution to the team:


  • 2007/2008 Shayne Neigum
  • 2008/2009 Rhett Rachinski
  • 2009/2010 Mark Pysyk
  • 2010/2011 Ryan Dech
  • 2012/2013 Cole Benson
  • 2013/2014 Dysin Mayo

During our tenure since the return to modern day participation in The Western Hockey League, a total of 12 players have been drafted to the National Hockey League in the entry draft held each June.

  • Tristan Jarry - Pittsburg Penguins - 2nd round
  • Mitchell Moroz - Edmonton Oilers - 2nd round
  • Curtis Lazar - Ottawa Senators - 1st round
  • Griffin Reinhart - New York Islanders - 1st round
  • Cody Corbett - New York Islanders
  • Henrik Samuelsson - Phoenix Coyotes - 1st round
  • Mark Pysyk Buffalo Sabres 1st round 23rd overall
  • Keegan Lowe Carolina Hurricanes 3rd round
  • Travis Ewanyk Edmonton Oilers 3rd round
  • Michael St. Croix New York Rangers 4th round
  • Laurent Brossoit Calgary Flames 6th round
  • Thomas Vincour - Dallas Stars - 5th round

A number of our graduates who benefited from their Salisbury experience and have continued their education through classes at either the University Alberta or Athabasca University while continuing to play at the major junior level. This is certainly a credit to the foundation they have received.

Congratulation to the following, former Salisbury students:

Rhett Rachinski University of Alberta
Ryan Dech Athabasca University
Travis Ewanyk Athabasca University
Davis Stephans Athabasca University